The amazing myopia of Philip Barlow

[versión en castellano más abajo]

A few days ago, I was talking with a friend about how do you feel when you can’t see well. Both of us are myopic. We belong to this select group of people whose first movement before getting up is to pick the glasses that are strategically placed on the bedside table. But, what happens if you didn’t leave them there? Horror! How can you find them if you can’t see anything? You can be irresponsible with everything, but with the glasses… no, don’t gamble wih that, friends.

I’m always upset thinking about a great catastrophe, those where you have to run away… and they fall and you can’t see anything… I’m always a bit sad with the typical scene when the glasses of the nerd boy fall and break into pieces.

To chase away my fears, I think of the positive things, the things that people with sharp eyes are not able to do. Me, when I take off my glasses, I can dissapear. I don’t see anybody, no one sees me. In stressful situations, I take off the Mr. Magoo costume and I blur the problems for a while.

One friend who was listening to us asks how was not see anything in the street, feeling this dependency, not being able to distinguish anybody. We said, well, you see blurry scenes, colours, I don’t know…

And suddenly, a few days ago, I met Philip Barlow, and no explanations were needed. I just love it.

Hace unos días estuve hablando con una amiga acerca de lo que se siente cuando ves mal. Yo soy miope y ella también. Pertenecemos a ese selecto grupo de personas cuyo primer movimiento antes de levantarse de la cama es coger las gafas que están estratégicamente colocadas encima de la mesita. ¿Y qué ocurre si no las has dejado ahí? ¡Horror! ¿Cómo encontrarlas si no ves nada? Puedes ser irresponsable con todo, pero con las gafas… no, con eso no se juega, amigos.

Siempre me entra la angustia pensando en una gran catástrofe, de esas de las que tienes que salir corriendo… y se te caen y no ves nada… Siempre sufro un poquillo en la típica escena en la que al niño empollón se le caen las gafas y se rompen.

Para ahuyentar mis miedos pienso en las cosas positivas, cosas que las personas con vista de lince no pueden hacer. Yo, cuando me quito mis gafas, desaparezco. Yo no veo a nadie, nadie me ve. En situaciones estresantes me quito el disfraz de rompetechos y difumino los problemas durante un rato.

Un amigo que nos escuchaba nos preguntó cómo era no ver por la calle, sentir esa dependencia, no poder distinguir a nadie. Nosotras le decíamos, pues ves borroso, con colores, no sé…

Y de repente, hace unos días, me encontré con Philip Barlow y ya no hicieron falta explicaciones. Simplemente, me encanta.

Leave a comment